Hotel Photos
Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos
  • Hotel Summary

    Summary Page

  • Rooms & Prices

    Rooms From £50.00

    Book Online Now

  • Special Offers

    View Our current Special Offers

  • Customer Reviews

    View Our Customer Reviews

  • Local Attractions

    Local Attractions near Us

Welcome to White Lodge

Address: Hatherley Lane, Cheltenham, GL51 6SH

Telephone: 01242 242347 01242 242347

Hotel Description

White Lodge is over 100 years old and still has some original features. It's set in over half an acre of mature gardens with plenty of places to sit and ponder. White Lodge is easily accessible from J11 of the M5 and convenient for most local places of interest, such as the Cotswolds, Gloucester, the Forest of Dean and of course beautiful Cheltenham Spa. We are two miles from the centre of Cheltenham on the A40 towards Gloucester, near to GCHQ (within walking distance), and Dean Close School. Cheltenham racecourse is three miles away. The railway station is one and a half miles. Being next to a Park and Ride is very handy for those who do not wish to drive into town. We have parking for up to six cars.

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Parking Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi Available

Rooms & Online Bookings - White Lodge

Special Offers - White Lodge

Hotel Reviews - White Lodge

Cheltenham Festival
Enjoyed our stay everything you need good location. Great breakfast would recommend. Short bus ride into town and approx 3 miles from race track. KFC & Harvester opposite which was great for us all.

Jeanette Thompson - 28th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

White Lodge
Excellent Stay,

Steph great host, and brilliant breakfast

Thank you

Trevor Nield - 16th Mar, 2018
Verified Review

Weekend Break
Welcoming and friendly hosts. Clean, well furnished and comfortable room, plus a satisfying breakfast.

Just over the road is a Kentucky fried chicken and a Harvester, so food and drink on the doorstep and no need to drive.

Altogether, an ideal location for a short (or longer) break.

Colin Reay - 26th Feb, 2018
Verified Review

White Lodge Review
We had a very relaxing stay. After a long journey it was wonderful to unpack have a cup of tea, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was freshly made. In all a clean and homely place to stay just off the M5.Thank you.

lucy zawadzki - 18th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

A Very Pleasant Stay..
The White Lodge is a lovely period house, it is very quaint and unusual. It had a lovely breakfast and Pam was very welcoming.. I had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to book again the next time I'm in Cheltenham..

Keith Everett - 13th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Very Pleasant Stay
A pleasant night stopover on our way from Manchester to Exemouth on a pre Christmas road trip to meet new friends

White Lodge was an ideal place to break our journey - the room -along with the rest of the house has lots of character - lovely & clean - & very comfortable - only the erratic shower stopped us giving it a 5

Fred Ellis - 8th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Excellent Breakfast!
I stayed one night in the White Lodge but will return as it was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

Ian Kerr - 8th Dec, 2017
Verified Review

Perfect
Really good room, breakfast perfect will certainly stay again when in the area.

john Stevenson - 17th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Acceptable
No real strong features, milk should have been on the breakfast counter in a flask to keep it cold.

We didn't know we could have had yoghurt and fresh fruit until we sat down eating cereal ( which was the only option visible). A greater selection of breakfast would have been nice.

A warmer welcome on arrival.

A shower that did not fluctuate between boiling and freezing.

Peter Burgess - 9th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Milk and butter is delivered to the table straight from the fridge when the guests sit down. A notice is on the buffet telling guests if they require fruit and yoghurt to please ask as I prepare it when it is ordered. Also it is included on the menu on the table. I am not sure what is needed to have a greater selection of breakfast, I already provide a choice of 5 different egg styles. No complaints about the shower either before or after your departure. Sorry if you felt my welcome was not warm.

Does What It Says On The Tin.
If you need a quick stopover, as we did, then this place is fine. Decent breakfast. Clean. Comfy beds.

Julie Wright - 21st Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Absoulty A Great Place To Stay
I was greeted very well and shoen to my room. The bedroom was of a very, very high standard. Better than some of the hotels. A really true English Decor and well layedout. The colour scheme is truely great. The Breafast is of high standards. So I am staying another two nights. But all I can say is cine and check it out. You will nit have any regrets what so ever.

Phillip Hodges - 8th Aug, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much

White Lodge, Cheltenham
White Lodge was perfect for what we needed. We were going to an afternoon wedding so the owner allowed us to check in early, then gave us a key to return late. She went out of her way to help us and it was very much appreciated. Room was very comfy with tea-making facilities too. Easy access from A40 so would definitely recommend to anyone who needs to stay in that area. Free WiFi and excellent prices too.

Janice Tibble - 16th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks

White Lodge
Very comfortable.

A little subject to heavy traffic noise from about 6 am to 10 pm.

Extremely friendly hosts.

J C Bennett - 9th Jul, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your response, although I am sure you did not stay in your room all day, and yes we are on a busy road

Charming Character House
Lovely place for a stop over convenient for the races and shops and sightseeing . The bonus for us it had a very large back garden for the dogs to run around. Safely. We had the red bedroom No 3 over looking back garden, full of character. Well stocked with shampoo, soap tissues, tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits, toothbrush and your own fridge. Mattress was too soft for us but the room was lovely and clean .

LYNNETTE BARKER - 29th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Very Nice Stay
A lovely B&B. We stayed in the room which had a shared bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast was lovely too. The new only gripe was a bit of traffic noise but if I was in the area again I would stay here.

Kingsley Higgins - 12th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks

Convenient, Clean.
one night stop-over, great breakfast, tidy room. good wifi. tv. would stay again.

Christopher Saul - 8th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Ideal Location
Great location, room ideal, not so great having to walk down a flight of stairs to use the toilet but otherwise great.

Carl Ashford - 7th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
We do state on the website that the bathroom is on the first floor and the bedrooms are on the second. But thank you

Very Comfortable But ...
Proprietors very welcoming, breakfast good, room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the use of a plug in room freshener resulted in an overpowering scent that was so strong it made your eyes smart and triggered off asthma in my wife. More open windows and fresh air would have achieved what was being desired.

Robert Menary - 13th May, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
I was sorry to hear about the room freshener, although it was not plugged in just sitting in the wardrobe. Believe me when some guests vacate the room, open windows and fresh air does not go very far and the plug in is necessary. Other than that I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Very Comfortable Stay
Comfortanble two nights spent in a beautifully maintained property, with delicious breakfast, looking at a lovely garden. Once inside, no idea you were beside a busy roundabout so comfort in a very accessible location. If using the postcode and a sat nav to find it, bit tricky - we ended up in a dead end road, from which we could see the property and then had to work out how to access it, as it can only be approached one way.Easy when you know!

Karen Knight - 1st May, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your response. Just to let other people know the property can be accessed both ways.

Lovely B+b, Charmingly Prepared.
A most charmingly furnished and warmly welcoming B+B just beside the Highway.

Hinrich Horstkotte - 22nd Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Perfect Stay
We were very pleased with our room, spotlessly clean,

beautifully decorated. The breakfast was perfect, kept us going most of the day. If we were to return to Cheltenham, we would try to book in with White Lodge.

Many thanks to our friendly hosts.

Kathy Mayne - 13th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Your more than welcome, thank you.

Perfect Stay
We were very pleased with our room, spotlessly clean,

beautifully decorated. The breakfast was perfect, kept us going most of the day. If we were to return to Cheltenham, we would try to book in with White Lodge.

Many thanks to our friendly hosts.

Kathy Mayne - 10th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Like A Home Away From Home
Lovely room with warm and genuine hospitality.

Theresa Borg - 24th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you.

Good Value
Good value for money. Clean, friendly and an excellant breakfast

Den Garvey - 23rd Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Comfortable Bed & Breakfast
The room was very comfortable and warm. Bed was excellent.

Judi McSweeney - 13th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you.

Very Nice
I found the room and everything at the White Lodge very nice and had no issues during my short stay.

COLIN TAYLOR - 20th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Very Pleasant Stay
Clean, well-presented and very convenient location. Nice service without being intrusive. Recommended.

James Marklove - 6th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Comfortable And Convenient
We were in Cheltenham to visit family and White Lodge was convenient and sensibly priced. The hosts took care to supply Gluten Free food for my wife's breakfast and our room was very comfortable both for sleeping and sitting to watch TV of an evening. We'll use them again!

Tim Coad - 5th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Welcoming Stay
We're actually a family with older children but that option wasn't available. We had a double and twin for 2 nights and the rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

We also had our dog with us and we were all made to feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Mrs. Isobel Gorton - 31st Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Pamela

Amazing Stay
Clean charming country home feel. Breakfast was outstanding. Worth every oenny

Mrs. Caroline Fletcher - 18th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

White Lodge B&b
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the White Lodge. It had everything we needed and more, so clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was lovely. A real hidden gem.

James Peacock - 12th Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
My daughter did well, so glad you enjoyed your stay

Not The Friendliest Welcome!
Hard to find, straight before a busy roundabout but well signposted parking bays. An unwelcoming greeting but the room was clean although far too full of furniture for the size of the room. The shower was consistently warm. We missed breakfast which finishes at 9 - even on a Sunday.

Mrs. Kate Bedford - 28th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Sorry if you thought you had an unwelcome greeting. All furniture in the room is there for a purpose, if I took any out people would complain, no wardrobe or no chairs to sit on. As for breakfast I have to have a cut off time to give sufficient time afterwards for guests to leave and for me to service the rooms before 14.00, as some people arrive before 13.00. Sundays are no different to the rest of the week.

Autumn Stay
A very relaxing two night break

Everything you could need was in the en-suite room, including dinner plates, cutlery and salt/pepper for a takeaway (we didn't need them). Breakfast hearty with more tea offered. Garden was a hidden gem. You wouldn't think White Lodge was so near a busy roundabout.

Pamela and Dick looked after us well in an unfussy manner. Only pity was that we didn't have enough time to view and chat about the many items and old photographs that were part of the history of this house.

Would definitely return, and recommend it

Mr. Joseph Cunningham - 31st Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Lovely Little Gem
Excellent room very clean comfortable and lovely decor. Breakfast was good. No faults lovely second stay.

Mrs. Lorraine Potts - 10th Oct, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Weekend Stay
The accommodation was very comfortable, everything had been thought of. Breakfast was excellent, every taste catered for.

Mrs. Judith Pugh - 26th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

White Lodge Is The \"right Lodge\"
What a fabulous little secret! The sat nav couldn't find it but once we did we were amazed. The decor, service and breakfast were top class. Beds comfy, proper tea bags and fresh milk in the room. We were glad of the price but you'd easily pay more anywhere else. And, what a lovely garden - felt like we were in the middle of the countryside. We highly recommend this little gem!

Mr. Kevin Siddall - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Quiet, Pleasant And Well Equipped
Everything you would expect in a b and b run by very experienced owners.

Very pet friendly - large enclosed garden. Parking just adequate.

Mr. Roger Williams - 12th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Well Equipped Room
A little hard to find and near a busy road. However the traffic was light by evening, was muted by the double glazing and did not disturb our sleep. Breakfast was very good and our room had nice touches like the small fridge with fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray. Run by a very pleasant couple.

Mrs. Gillian Anson - 9th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your comments. Pamela

Lovely Night In Cheltenham
Beautiful B&B and gardens. We had a good nights sleep in a lovely room. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. To top it off our hosts were lovely too!!

Mr. Gareth Scott - 20th Jun, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you. Pamela

Excellent Value For Money
Were were very comfortable on this one-night stay. The room was decorated to a very high standard and had all the facilites you would expect. The full English breakfast was more than adequate. The house is very convenient for the motorway and within very easy walking distance of a Harvester restaurant.

Mr. Debbie Kerr - 31st May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you. Pamela

Pleasant Stay
We found The White Lodge to be very comfortable and clean.A really nice breakfast was provided to set us up for the day.We would certainly recommend the White Lodge.

Mr. Donald Whalen - 21st Nov, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your response, Pamela

Good Value.
Very comfortable stay, room very clean, and lovely English breakfast.

Mr. Kelvin Reeves - 5th Oct, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you.

Lovely B&b
We were staying for two nights to go to a friend's wedding. The rooms were well decorated with lots of thoughtful amenities such as pocket tissues and a sewing kit that you don't usually get in family run B&Bs and there was a fridge with fresh milk for the tea and coffee facilities. Both Pam and Dick were really friendly and didn't mind us arriving at 10pm on a Friday night. The breakfast on both mornings was freshly cooked and tasted fab. We really couldn't complain about anything.

Miss. Grace Collins - 12th Aug, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your kind review. Pam

Comfortable
We liked the White Lodge. The welcome and breakfast were nice. Our only critisism would be that the room was over-furnished and felt rather cramped.

Mr. Neil Robson Robson - 21st Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately when we are graded Visit England require a certain number of items in the room and furnishings to achieve a 4 star status, the room sizes are dictated as well. They so far have not realized it does not always work.

Really Nice And Homely, But There Is A But!!
Clean, well furnished and the bed is really comfy!!! You get little extras which is nice - a fridge in your room, selection of hot drinks and loads of toiletries. Now comes the bad part - I couldn't get hot water out of the shower!! I had the water running for some time and it was freezing. Also there is only one power setting you can have the shower on as the other settings just release a slow trickle of water. If the shower worked I would have given 5/5

Mr. Lee Purchase - 10th Apr, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
We did ask this guest if he wanted us to look at the shower, he declined. There are only two controls on this shower, a lever that turns from left to right for the water flow and a knob that turns left to right towards a red button for the temperature 1-8 and past the red button control for more heat. Unfortunately this guest had the temperature turned right down to the lowest setting of cold!!!

Would Recommend
Very homely. Everything I wanted.

Mr. Edward Greening - 27th Mar, 2014
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you

Write a Review!

Attractions - White Lodge

Brickhampton Court Golf Complex - Gloucester - Golf

Brickhampton Court Golf Complex - Gloucester - Golf

Distance 2.1 miles (3.35 km)
Brickhampton Court Golf Complex was created in 1994 by Creed Golf & Leisure Ltd, a company owned by a local family who have maintained a keen interest in ensuring its development into a golfing centre of true quality. The courses were designed by Simon Gidman, a member of the British Institute of Golf Course Architects and respected as a designer of challenging and attractive golf courses that offer a fair test to golfers of all abilities. Set in 200 acres of rolling Gloucestershire countryside the complex enjoys the benefit of no steep hills and thus energies can be directed towards the golf and not scaling the peaks!

Cheltenham Centre - Town Centre

Cheltenham Centre - Town Centre

Distance 2.51 miles (4.01 km)
A cultural centre of international repute, Cheltenham provides a wide range of entertainment for visitors to enjoy, including excellent theatre, music, dance and comedy. Gustav Holst, the composer of The Planets Suite, was born here and a visit to the Holst Birthplace Museum is highly recommended. Famous people to have visited Cheltenham include Handel, Samuel Johnson, the Duke of Wellington, Princess Victoria, Lord Byron and Jane Austen. Cheltenham is a place of fine regency buildings, wide tree-lined avenues,beautiful parks, scenic lakes, spacious lawns and manicured gardens.

Cheltenham Town Football Club - Football Club

Cheltenham Town Football Club - Football Club

Distance 3.04 miles (4.87 km)
The ground is undergoing yet more building work as the moment as a new all seated, 1,000 capacity stand, is being built at the Whaddon Road End of the ground. The stand which will be covered and will join onto the In2Print Stand at one corner, is due to be completed in December 2005. The In2Print Stand was opened in November 2001 and was built by Barr Construction. This stand sits proudly at one side of the pitch and houses 2,034 supporters. It is a covered, all seated, single tiered stand, part of which is given to away supporters. On the other side of the pitch is the UCAS Main Stand, which has seating to the rear and terracing at the front.

Cheltenham Racecourse - Cheltenham - Racecourse

Cheltenham Racecourse - Cheltenham - Racecourse

Distance 3.12 miles (5 km)
Cheltenham Racecourse now boasts some brand new multi million pound state-of-the-art facilities for racegoers and non-racegoers alike...In what was part of a long-term development plan, over 17 million worth of improvements to Cheltenham Racecourse were completed in time for 2004's Cheltenham National Hunt Festival. Several new state-of-the-art buildings have been created to enhance the racecourse's facilities and offer the racegoers much more in terms of hospitality. The Centaur is a 14 million development that more than doubles the facilities in the Grandstand complex at the Racecourse.